The WWE Undisputed Championship

“Suddenly it’s over, and in the center of the ring, one man is victorious. The referee raises his hand, and from somewhere (you’re not quite sure where because you’re still cheering), the shining symbol of this momentous win appears. With the crowd still roaring, the winner stands alone in the ring and raises the championship belt high over his head. The lights shine off the WWE Championship title belt, and in that instant, the winner’s life will be changed forever.” – This is the excerpt from the book entitled; “The WWE Championship: A Look Back at the Rich History of the WWE Championship”.

Since its creation in 1963 the title has been held by many of the greatest performers to ever step foot inside the squared-circle but over its lifespan of 48 years the title itself has gone through so many designs. There have been many versions, some traditional representing a certain era and others representing an extension of the wrestler wearing the title at the time.

Out of the many versions we have seen over the years I believe my all time favorite belt would have to be – The Undisputed WWE Championship belt. This was the version seen on WWE Programming from 2002-2005 and it was the belt for me! The Championship is unique in and of itself based on one simple fact; this was the very last WWF Championship as well as the very first WWE Championship. I can remember The Undertaker as The American Badass wearing this belt with such honor and defending it in a manner that I would love to see again today. During this time frame you could flip on WWE, see whoever was wearing that belt and knew he was “The Man”.

The Rock as The Undisputed WWE Champion

After Triple H beat Chris Jericho at Wrestlemania X8, Ric Flair presented this title to Triple H merging The WWE Championship and World Heavyweight Championship belts into one. With a new, yet tradition look complete with The McMahon Family crest engraved into the side plates this had become the new version of WWE’s most coveted prize.  There were only 10 Superstars to ever wear this version of the Championship; Triple H, Hulk Hogan, Undertaker, The Rock, Brock Lesnar, Kurt Angle, Big Show, Eddie Guerrero, JBL and John Cena. Out of that list The Rock, Undertaker and Eddie were my personal favorites to wear this championship. I believe my favorite match for this title would have to be Eddie vs. Brock at No Way Out in 2004. If you missed it do yourself a favor and go back and watch this one. Like I stated in my very first blog, I really miss matches where earning a title match and the proper build up for a win actually meant something.

I really think it’s time for the title to take a more traditional and less John Cena looking form again. I mean seeing people like CM Punk and Alberto Del Rio wearing the “Spinner-belt” just doesn’t work well.  I know there are many of you out there who agree and others who may prefer a different version but for me The WWE Undisputed Championship will always be my favorite Championship.  Shane tells me we are getting some followers on Twitter and the site here at Kick Out at 2! So it’s your turn. Let us know what your favorite version of The WWE Championship was and why. We look forward to your feedback and thanks reading!

-Robbie C

**THE DARK MATCH – (Kick Out at 2! Bonus Feature)**

2 thoughts on “The WWE Undisputed Championship

  1. The thing is, the spinner makes them so much money in replicas. It was honestly–and I’m being completely serious–a great idea, at the time. The Spinner belt is the equivalent of Austin’s ‘Smoking Skull’ belt, and the ‘Rated R’ spinner belt is the equivalent of the Brahma Bull title (remember that? remember either of them?). Basically they tried things to see if they would stick and translate to merchandise sales. The Spinner belt happened to be the most successful (I’m assuming).
    So, sadly, I don’t see it changing until sales slow down. I completely agree that for the sake of the content, they should revert to a traditional approach. Unfortunately, though, the ‘bottom line’ is the priority. And I’m talking red hot profit, not Stone Cold Steve Austin.
    I predict, however, that if/when we see a new belt it’ll be something completely new that they can sell. UNLESS…
    This is very unlikely–but, they may try to cash-in on nostalgia and put the belt on the Rock, and bring back one of the popular designs from the 90s/00s. Largely unlikely, but they may recognize the fact that replicas of that belt would sell like crazy if revived.

  2. Honestly I see your points. I (Robbie) myself even own the replica of The Spinner-belt. My best friend got it for me so it carries a lot of sentimental value. It has become my “traveling belt” and I take it to events and other places that I like to make an impact by having a little fun. I’m actually about to order the Undisputed Replica very soon as just a symbol to set up in my apartment. This was during a personal favorite time in wrestling for me which is why I’m partial to the Undisputed so much. Shane has said something about doing a follow up to this talking about his favorite version so hopefully he will. Thanks for the feedback and we look forward to hearing from other readers as well. 🙂

Leave a comment